The Minimalist Crafter

Recently, I saw a wonderful documentary about two fellas who follow a minimalistic life style. The tile of the documentary is “Minimalism: A documentary about the important things.” It is about two men who, for various reasons, gave up the “keeping up with the Jones’” attitude and turned to a minimalists lifestyle. After watching the documentary I was so intrigued that I obtained a copy of their book “Minimalism: Live a meaningful life” by Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus.

minimalism

The book is great although is is not what I expected. Instead of telling stories about how they got rid of everything and why, it is filled with information about being true to yourself, building meaningful relationships, appreciation, following your passions, raising your standards and most importantly adding value to your life.

“What does all this have to do with creating?,” you might ask. Everything, especially when it comes to hoarding stuff…you know… fabric. It didn’t take me long to figure out which areas of my life need changing in order to add more value to my everyday existence. My sewing room is one of those areas: It’s was a mess. The stuff you see under the table is fabric that I plan to upcycle, the stuff on top is either quilts in progress or other projects that I am working on or stuff that I don’t have room for elsewhere.

sewing-table-before

A partial photo of my work room

Generally I keep a very uncluttered home, in fact about a year ago I started going through much of what we owned and I allocated new homes for anything that we did not love or added value to our lives. I was going for an early American Amish simplistic lifestyle/home. The one area that was neglected though was my sewing room. There just never seemed to be enough time in the day to get it all sorted and organized (or thrown out), so I gave up and started avoiding the room. That is until I watched the documentary and read this book.

This month my life is going to be changing in a drastic but in an invigorating, good way (more on that later) and I want to be prepared for the new beginning, so yesterday I started cleaning. If something does not bring me joy and value, then it has to go. I have decided that I do not need organizers or new shelving, what I need is to organize what I already have and finish unfinished projects. If I just focus on that, I will be saving lots of money this year while at the same time downsizing my life clutter so I can lead a more meaningful life.

sewing-table-after

As you can see, I have gotten the top of my cutting table cleaned off: Whew! What a job that was. My tiny stash of fabric yardage is now stacked neatly and my sewing table now has room for me to work.

There is still lots to do in there, but for now I am off to a great start.

3 thoughts on “The Minimalist Crafter

Leave a Reply

