Quilt Store Critique

Home Sew

Home Sew (www.homesew.com)
Bethlehem, PA
Quality Merchandise: starstarstarstar
Customer Service: starstarstarstarstar

home-sew

Pro’s
I LOVE Home Sew. I can remember being a little kid in Lawrenceville, NJ, sometime in the early 70’s, and my mother would give me the trim samples out of each new catalog to play with. Needless to say I have fond memories of this company. When I discovered in the late 1990’s that they were still in business I was ecstatic.
Home Sew has been a family run business since 1961 and customer service is top priority for them. They carry a large selection of notions, even the not so common things like the tool that is used to pull elastic through casings and turn narrow fabric tubes inside out. They call it a “Turn-It-All”.
In the past few years they have expanded to carry fabric. Where as I have not had the opportunity to purchase their fabric yet, I’m pretty sure, based on Home Sews reputation, that it is of excellent quality.
Shipping from Home Sew is pretty good. My orders have always been process and shipped within 24 hours on my order being received. If you have a delay with your order, you might want to take it up with the U.S. Postal service, because Home Sew does not delay with getting their orders out.

Con’s
The down side of Home Sew, is that if they are out of stock with something that you have ordered, you might not find out until the rest of your order has been received. That has happened to me a few times. My order comes, minus an item because it is out of stock. This does not happen often, but it does sometimes happen. They always give me a full refund for the out of stock item however. This can be avoided by calling in your order during normal business hours. They are on the east coast, so time your phone call accordingly.

Overall
Overall I love Home Sew. They have served myself and my family for about 50 years and they will continue to serve me for as long as I continue to sew.

Leave a Reply

