Taking Heart

I haven’t been writing, because I have been busy ending one phase of my life and beginning another. What exactly does that mean? Well, it means that I have been mentally preparing myself to be jobless, which in itself has been a immense mental challenge for me. It also means that I have been decluttering and cleaning my home. My beautiful husband and I have experienced a very unpleasant life existence for the past 12 1/2 years and although our home is clean, it has accumulated lots of stuff that we simply do not need or want.

Magical HousekeepingRecently I started clearing away all the excess stuff that we do not absolutely love or need and I have been scrubbing, dusting and clutter clearing daily. The book “Magical Housekeeping” by Tess Whitehurst has been a wonderful inspiration throughout the entire process. I have read this book several times before and it is my go to read when I am looking to shift or clear out negative energy. For me this has been exhausting.

I spend 2-3 hours each day decluttering and scrubbing everyday and afterwards I am exhausted. Literally so tired that I could lay down and take a nap. Clutter clearing is so much more draining to the physical self than I ever could have imagined.

Because of this I have not gotten as much done on the quilt as I had hoped to. But I am off to a good start. I have 4 blocks completely quilted and a 5th that is almost done. I am averaging 1 block a day. The process is much slower than I usually quilt, but it is also much more enjoyable. As a general rule I LOVE hand quilting, but this quilt has more symbolic meaning to me than any of the other quilts that I have done in the past. To begin with, it has an exuberant amount of hand work on it. I have never embroidered a quilt before and I am so very glad that I started with a baby size quilt instead of a queen size.

It also taught me a lesson in humanity and self worth, as the quilt store that I purchased this fabric from was the one with the rude owner and staff.

This quilt has also come to fruition as I have; slowly, steadily, and with a full heart. As I have changed over the past several months, so has this quilt. To me it is a symbol of ending one chapter in my life and beginning a new one. It literally is a visual symbol of my personal evolution.

Blessings to all…

One thought on “Taking Heart

Leave a Reply

