Applique' · Baking · Cooking · Hand Quilting · Quilting · Quilts · Ramblings

Bella’s got her groove back

After spending a week moping around trying to figure out what I am suppose to do now, I finally stepped back into the life that I was born to lead: My kitchen!

I have spent the last 2 1/2 years revolving my life around a job that I really didn’t like and ignoring the things the I LOVE: Cooking, baking and creating. Yesterday, it all came flooding back to me and I was as happy as a bumble bee in a field full of red clover.

Mark and I started our day by walking the dogs, the morning air was warm and beautiful. Then we came home and butchered 3 chickens. I will not post photo’s because I don’t like butchering. It’s just something that needs to be done from time to time.

My afternoon was full of what I do best: Homemaking. I started with homemade Anadama bread, yum!

I then moved on to pressure canning a pound and a half of dried beans. My life is so much easier when I can just grab a can of cooked beans instead of having to cook them  before crafting a meal.

Since we finished off the last of strawberry shortcake for desert at lunch time, I made homemade gingerbread for our after supper sweet treat.

Our supper, in anticipation of a heavy desert, was a light salad, made with the freshest ingredients that I could find at the store.

Salad

After supper, I turned my attention to blending up a new skin lotion for the dermatitis that I developed my last 2 months working at the library. Peppermint, chickweed, cleavers, and calendula went into to making this powerful skin emollient.

Chickweed lotion

I even had time to work. on my quilt a little bit. I finally finished hand quilting all the blocks and I moved on to quilting the border.

QuiltedBlocks1QuiltedBlocks2Love

I finally found my rhythm again and I am oh so happy!

 

Happy creating!!!

4 thoughts on “Bella’s got her groove back

  1. Thank you, it has taken practice to get them right. It sounds like your were already fully cooked before they went into the jars, mine are still a bit firm. Pressure canning fully cooks them, so you have to be careful how “prepared” they are before the final step.

    Like

Leave a Reply

