Art · Charcoal Drawings · Charcoal Pencil Drawing · Drawings · Equine Art · For the Love of Horses · Horse Art · Pencil Drawings

Daytime Shadows

Daytime Shadows 72This week I have been exercising my equine art skills. Once upon a time I could finish a drawing this size in a day or two, now aways though it takes me a bit longer. I don’t recall if I mentioned this in a previous post or not, but I use to work as a freelance equine artist. I would do commissions for people as well as sell my work to private collectors. That was over 15 years ago though. I have done a few equine portraits since but not many and I haven’t tried to sell any since 2001 or 2002.

I have to admit I struggled with this one, the horse in the background in particular. First he was pitch black, but that had to change once the foreground horse began to take shape. So I lightened the back horse again and again. Nothing seemed to work and I was about to do 1 of 2 things; either turn the whole piece into a colored pencil drawing, whereas I could make the background horse a chestnut and the foreground one black or I could throw the whole thing out and start over. As we all well know however, life does not only boil down to two choices. After observing this piece at random times during the day and in various degrees of light a third idea came to me and that was to lighten the background horse with white pastel. It worked. Unfortunately though, I can easily see the diminished quality of the horse because of all the reworking I had done.

All of this could have been prevented if I had spent a little time planning the whole piece out, but I didn’t. I simply jumped right in, I know better. So, lesson learned and all is well that ends well.

Daytime Shadows

Charcoal Drawing     Size – 9″x 6″

Daytime Shadows 72

5 thoughts on “Daytime Shadows

  1. This is beautiful well done.

    I find planning and creativity sometimes are in opposition with one another – it is a challenge to allow the creative process to be one of experimentation rather than following a rigid design.

    reading your post – it seems that you see the challenge as being one of poor planning whereas I think it is more of experimentation. Without going through this phase you would not have discovered a new technique.

    I have not been a commercial artist, but I used to produce projects for magazines.. I would present an idea and have to deliver it, (planned out as you say) but in the making process – I would either hit an issue which meant I had to alter the plan or a happy accident would occur and it evolved into something else entirely. However, I would then have to begin again to deliver not the changed idea but the original plan. it is why I gave up writing for magazines, it seemed to limit the process of creativity.

    What you have produced is beautiful, don’t doubt it, it represents a journey you took – and overcoming difficulties! What a great achievement!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

