Color · Quilting · Quilts · Ramblings

Inspired by Stephanie

Several weeks ago, My husband and I were discussing some way which I could earn a modest income while working from home. Since I have the capabilities to create and sell human and animal portraits, it was decided that I should try my hand at art again. I’ve done it before and we thought that perhaps I could do it again. So I set out to build a portfolio of simple drawings. It was clear from the beginning that my artistic skills were a bit rusty and I really needed to spend some time exercising them, which I have been doing. About half way through the last drawing though, I became restless. I couldn’t wait for it to be done, I didn’t want to sit at my art desk, I was unhappy with the results I was creating and the internal dialog went on and on. Consequently I finished it as fast as I could and I have only reluctantly looked at it a few times since.

It was clear to me that drawing for a living was not something that I wanted to do again. Spending that last several weeks at my art desk reminded me as to why I walked away from it all those years ago. Long term drawing bores me and it ties me to a desk, which hurts both my eyes and my back. So I took the weekend off to hang out with my husband and our oldest son and re-assess what I was going to do and how I was going to do it.

Although we had a fantastic weekend, come Monday morning I awoke feeling down hearted and frustrated with myself for not having come up with a career plan. That feeling only lasted until I went to look at my eMail and I saw a posting from Quilt ’N Party. Then my mood began to lighten greatly.

Quilt 'N Party

Quilt ’N Party is a blog that is run by Stephanie, a daytime IT business analyst, quilter and quilt designer. I discovered her blog about 6 months ago and I have been a fan of her work ever since. She brings a fresh approach to quilting that I really appreciate. Her fabric choices are spectacular and her quilt blocks are always inspiring. I love to open her eMails because I never know what I am going to find, but I always know that it will be uplifting.

Hungarian Posies Block
Quilt block designed and made my Stephanie at https://quiltnparty.com 

Monday’s post was about the Hungarian Posies quilt that she made. She designed this pattern and submitted it to the Fall 2016 Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks and it was accepted! As you can see, her completed quilt is in the colors of coral, red and a light hearted lime green that is soothing and cheerful. I don’t think I ever would have put these colors together, but they are a fantastic combination. This is what I meant when I said that Stephanie’s fabric choices are spectacular.

Hungarian Posies Quilt
Quilt designed and made by Stephanie at https://quiltnparty.com 

I look at quilt blocks all the time and after a while they all start to look the same, but this one stopped my in the middle of my morning funk. The pattern is simplistic but very unique: No cookie cutter quilt here. More than that though it inspired me to follow a new path and that is to do just what is in front of me, the rest of life will work out on its own. Right now, the Hungarian Posies quilt is in the forefront of my mind and I think I might like where it will take me.

I encourage everyone who reads this post to take a few minutes to pop on over to Stephanie’s blog at www.quiltnparty.com. The direct link to the Hungarian Posies post is here: https://quiltnparty.com/2017/06/05/hungarian-posies-is-finished/

Happy creating everyone!

3 thoughts on “Inspired by Stephanie

Leave a Reply

