The Rose Garden Quilt Top is Complete!

This past week has been a whirlwind of activity for me. The weather here in Montana has been damp and cold, with the day time temp. somewhere between 45 & 60 degrees. So I have contented myself to stay indoors and sew… a lot. I have sewn so much over this past week that my right wrist has been aching for two days now. Who knew that operating a sewing machine would stress out the wrists?

Anyway, I finished assembling my rose garden quilt top. It is an extremely simplistic design, but with all the embroidery detail on many of the blocks, I felt like a simplistic design was a better choice than a more complicated one.

RoseGardenQuiltTop

RoseGarden: Linen Block

This center block is made from a piece of fine embroidered linen that I found at a thrift store a few years back. It is the inspiration for this entire quilt, right down to my hand embroidered rose buds down below.

RoseGarden: Green Blocks

Hand embroidered rose buds on 100% cotton quilting fabric, nestled up against some dark green flannel that was left over from making one of my husbands work shirts.

RoseGarden: 4 Patch Block

Machine embroidered leaves sewn on some bargain fabric that turned out to not be such a bargain.

This quilt will finish off as a twin size and its permanent home, once I quilt it, will be on the back of my sofa.

I haven’t decided if I want to hand quilt or machine quilt it yet, but at this time I am leaning toward hand quilting. A design like this, in a twin size, should only take me about a month or so to complete it. We’ll see how I feel once I am done hand quilting my Independence Park quilt though.

Have a great weekend everyone!

 

4 thoughts on “The Rose Garden Quilt Top is Complete!

Leave a Reply

