Dutch Windmill Block

Last week I finished my Rose Garden quilt top, but I was also busy doing something else as well. I designed my very first quilt block and I am tickled pink about it.

The idea came to me when I saw a photograph on Pinterest of a field of tulips with a windmill in the background. As soon as I saw the windmill I couldn’t help but see a quilt pattern. We quilters are inspired at that strangest times, aren’t we?

So I set to work with my graph paper and colored pencils sketching out a design and calculating measurements. I made a scrappy sample to test out my pattern, changed some measurements and remade it with coordinating fabrics. This was the result.

Dutch Windmill Sample

 

It has been suggested to me that I make up pdf directions and sell this pattern. I have to admit that the idea has some merit. As a result of the suggestion, last Friday I went to one of my favorite quilt stores and picked up new fabric so I can make this pattern up as a baby quilt. If I still like the “sell your pattern” idea when it is complete, I might just list the directions on Etsy.

Here is a sneak peek at some of the fabric that I purchased for this new project. I LOVE the bright colors!

Dutch WIndmill Bright Fabrics

New fabrics soaking in wash water.

 

3 thoughts on “Dutch Windmill Block

Leave a Reply

