Quilting with children and grandchildren.

Recently, on one of the blogs that I love to follow (Quilts…etc.), the topic of AccuQuilt came up. I have never used one before, so her blog post was very interesting to me. I couldn’t help but think that it would be safe for my 6 y/o grandson to use. You see he likes to quilt with me, but the rotary cutter is off limits to him.

I the midst of reading through the conversation, my mind wandered and I remembered the first quilt that he made. His name is Marcus and he was 4 years old. He had been sitting on my lap helping me sew since he was 2, but this was his first big project. He picked the fabrics out of my presorted boxes, then arranged the blocks the way he wanted them and together, we sewed, pinned, and sewed again. He helped with everything except for the cutting and binding. What a good time we had!

Just a few weeks ago, I found his quilt in his dresser drawer here at my house. When I took it out I was astounded at how small it was, but at the time it was perfect for him. He slept under it while watching tv and taking naps. He used it to line his indoor tent and he even shared it with the dogs when they wanted to snuggle.

When my children were little, they helped make a quilt too. Marcus’ dad and uncle made this one as a geometry home schooling project. It was only last year that I finally hand quilted it, and oh the memories that it brought up.

Quilting with children definitely has it’s challenges, but in my opinion it is well worth it. So grab yourself a kid and get sewing!

Happy sewing!


P.S.- I really enjoy Karen’s blog. If you get a chance, you might want to pop over there and see for yourself: Quilting…etc

5 thoughts on “Quilting with children and grandchildren.

  1. Hey Bella, I just noticed that you used my link for your last reference to Karen’s blog. I don’t mind the visitors 😊 but wanted to alert you so people don’t get confused! Sweet quilt with your grandson! We did nine patch pillows when I started the girls sewing, they are great memories!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

